Search this site

Search

# Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

(/obgyn/)

**MENU** 

Home (/obgyn/)

# Department Awards Program Honors Residents, Fellows, and Faculty Members

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology hosted their annual Departmental Awards Program on June 20, 2017. This event recognizes residents, fellows, and faculty members in the department for the following:

## Recognition of Excellence in Minimally Invasive Gynecology Award

Michael Haugsdal, MD, a fourth-year resident, received the "Recognition of Excellence in Minimally Invasive Gynecology Award" from the American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists (AAGL).

### **Outstanding Laparoendoscopic Resident Surgeon Award**

Heather Williams, MD, a fourth-year resident, received the "Outstanding Laparoendoscopic Resident Surgeon" award from the Society of Laparoendoscopic Surgeons.

#### 2017 SASGOG Award (resident)

The Society for Academic Specialists in General Obstetrics and Gynecology presented the "2017 SASGOG Award (resident)" to Ashley Kaiser, MD, a third-year resident, in recognition of her academic accomplishments and her interest in achieving excellence as an academic specialist in obstetrics and gynecology.

### 2017 SASGOG Award (faculty)

The Society for Academic Specialists in General Obstetrics and Gynecology presents the "2017 SASGOG Award (faculty)" to **Sarina Martini** 

(//medicine.uiowa.edu/obgyn/cme/obgyn/obgyn/cme/obgyn/obgyn/node/1316) in recognition of her commitment to excellence in clinical care of women and career development of academic specialists in obstetrics and gynecology.

# Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine Residency Program Award for Excellence in Obstetrics

The "Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine Residency Program Award for Excellence in Obstetrics" was awarded to Trenton Place, DO, PhD, a second-year resident, in recognition of shared commitment to the vision of the Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine to improve pregnancy and perinatal outcomes.

# Award for Excellence in Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery

The "Award for Excellence in Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery" was awarded to Evan Cohen, DO, a third-year resident, for demonstrating a commitment to the care of women with pelvic floor disorders and incorporating quality of life improvement into the clinical care of patients.

#### Award for Excellence in Family Planning

In recognition for her continued excellence and dedication to family planning, Heather Williams, MD, a fourth-year resident, was presented the Ryan Program Resident Award for Excellence in Family Planning.

### **Best Fellow Teacher Award**

Megan McDonald, MD, a second-year fellow in gynecologic oncology, received the "Best Fellow Teacher Award". This award was voted on by current residents in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

# The Golden Apple for Excellence in Teaching Award was given to:

- Abigail Mancuso, MD (fourth-year resident)
- Kathryn Huber-Keener, MD, PhD (third-year resident)
- Edward Nguyen, MD, PhD (second-year resident)
- Heather Winn, MD (first-year resident)
- Michelle Root, ARNP (advanced practitioner)
- Kelly Ward, MD (faculty member)
- Larry Lindell, MD (Broadlawn's faculty member)