Make an Appointment 855.589.6626

U-M Health System U-M Medical School

Dr. Timothy R. B. Johnson receives the APGO Lifetime Achievement Award

The APGO Board of Directors instituted the Lifetime Achievement Award to honor APGO leaders who have made noteworthy contributions within the specialty of obstetrics and gynecology and have demonstrated consistency of work in furthering the goals of the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics and academic medicine.

Dr Johnson is also the Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Professor of Women's Studies, and Research Professor in the Center for Human Growth and Development. His education and



Timothy R. B. Johnson, M.D.

training have been at the University of Michigan, University of Virginia and Johns Hopkins. After service in the US Air Force, he rejoined the Johns Hopkins faculty eventually to become Director of the Division of Maternal Fetal Medicine. Since 1993, he has been Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Michigan and has seen its national rankings reach into the "top ten" by NIH and USNWR metric. He has received research and training grants from NIH, DHHS, Carnegie Corporation and others. He is active in international teaching and training especially in Ghana, Africa and is an honorary fellow of the West African College of Surgeons and honorary foundation fellow of the Ghana College of Physicians and Surgeons, and Fellow *ad eundem* of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (London). He is author of over two hundred articles and chapters. He has served on numerous editorial boards including Editor of the International Journal of Gynecology and Obstetrics, study sections, professional committees, societies and boards and is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Science. In 2005, Dr. Johnson was awarded the Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.

He was an active APGO Council and Medical Education Foundation Committee member as well as Past President of the Association of Professors of Gynecology where he developed a new program for fellowship directors and started a task force to determine the needs of the clerkship coordinators. There is no single individual who has served as a role model and mentor for so many educators than Dr Johnson. His commitment to women's health and to women's health education made him the single best choice for the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Johnson received this award at the 2012 CREOG & APGO Annual Meeting. The ceremony was held at the Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek in Orlando, Florida, during the APGO awards luncheon on Friday, March 9, 2012.

